Showing posts with label HangoutsTips. Show all posts
Showing posts with label HangoutsTips. Show all posts

Tuesday, August 12, 2014

Just in case you missed it...Another tip from Ronnie Bincer

Just in case you missed it...Another tip from Ronnie Bincer 

Originally shared by Ronnie Bincer

Switch Accounts for Hangouts and Hangouts on Air - when joining
A common problem for many people is having too many accounts on Google Plus. This does not fix that situation, but helps you manage it better when invited into a video call...

As pictured in the 3 images below, we have the option now to Switch Accounts before joining a video call (either Hangout Video Call or Hangout on Air).

If someone invites you into a video call and they send the invitation to the wrong account (not your preferred account), you now have the option to switch accounts before joining the call via the "Switch account" link pictured in image number 1 at the bottom of the Join Interface.

This is not used to change from being a "Profile" to being a "Page" but is used if you happen to be invited (and received that invite) into a call and are using the wrong account. You'll see the account invited via the email address displayed below the Join button.

Your best bet is to tell those inviting you which is the proper account to use and potentially try to remove the wrong account from the system, but that is a whole different process and issue to address.

Susan Finch brought this new option to my attention recently. I think it is helpful for people when they are getting invited into video calls frequently with the wrong account. Hopefully that is not you!

We cover these types of changes inside the Hangout Mastery private community (a paid membership environment)... check it out at www.bit.ly/HangoutMastery
=== ===
#GooglePlusAccounts   #HOAtips   #HangoutsTips   #HangoutsOnAir   #SwitchAccounts  


Monday, June 9, 2014

I'm sure this will be of interest to some members of the community.


I'm sure this will be of interest to some members of the community.

Originally shared by Ronnie Bincer

My Hangout Window was Closed Automatically by a New Timer
Apparently, if you have a Hangout Video Call window open but are not doing anything with it, then you'll see this timer/warning dialog.
Quite a while back we had a different looking warning for inactivity when in a Hangout Video Call (and that seemed to go away)... this one just showed up today for me.

Maybe it has been around for a while and I just did not notice since I don't normally sit in a Hangout window without doing anything.

It makes a gameshow type clicking sound, and tries to draw your attention to the window... if you don't click the Yes button, then I have seen it close 1 minute after the first alert which seems to come at about 4 minutes (so you've got 5 minutes to respond).

Does this apply to a HOA? My results were from a Hangout Video Call (HVC) not a Hangout on Air (HOA) window.

I wonder how this will affect multiple computers being used as separate cameras in a HOA broadcast... will they need to have some mouse movement on occasion to keep them viable as a 'camera'?
=== ===
#HangoutTips   #HangoutsTips   #GooglePlusTips